C&Cs 15-11-2016

image1
Today we went to Norwich to visited Sainsbury Centre for research the Visual Arts .
we had visited three exhibitions , it was The Sainsbury Family Collection , Fiji- Art and Life in the Pacific and Masters of Japanese Photography(small entrance charge). By visiting the museum I had to find out the information and details about the museum and find out six objects that interest me .

sainsbury_centre_for_visual_arts
Sainsbury centre for the Visual Art is an art gallery and museum basic on University of East Anglia , Norwich , England . The Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts building was opened in 1978. It was designed between 1974 and 1976 by the then relatively unknown architect Norman Foster .

img_3403
Hope Leaving Schloss Schonagen 1934
Martin Bloch(1883-1954)
Oil on canvas
L.44
On long – term loan from the Martin Bloch Trust

Martin Bloch is an Anglo-German Expressionist painter. Born 17 November 1883 in Neisse, Silesia. First studied the violin, then architecture; finally art at Munich under Wölfflin 1905 and at Berlin under Corinth and George Mosson.
In this art work my first impressions was I feel like it was a little child to draw this painting but I like it very much .When the first time I saw this painting I don’t know the story of this picture but the material that he used really catch my eyes and I also like the color that he match together . After I read tittle of this work , I think this work want to present someone who want to leave Schloss in bravely , because I can see a person who jump off the Schloss . I think I will try to use what material that he has use in my future works .

artist ref:http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/martin-bloch-769
img_3381
Three studies of a Seated Nude 1934
Mark Gertler (1891-1939)
Production place :England
Caryon on paper
Acquired 1946
UEA 26
Mark Gertler (9 December 1891 – 23 June 1939), born Marks Gertler, was a British painter of figure subjects, portraits and still-life.His early life and his relationship with Dora Carrington were the inspiration for Gilbert Cannan’s novel Mendel.The characters of Loerke in D. H. Lawrence’s Women in Love and Gombauld in Aldous Huxley’s Crome Yellow were based on him.
This work had shown three nude women .When I saw this work I though this is seems likes what we always do in life drawing .I like the line that the artist draw .I like the contrast in this work and the shadow comes out .I think the artist want to present when people happy their skin is in orange color ,when people always live in sad emotion .The color will be black .   His work inspire me that when I was doing life drawing , don’t always just think about how should I draw prefect . I should start thinking how can I use colour to present my work in prefect way .

Artist ref: Wikipedia introduce
img_3401
Caryatid
Amedeo Modigliani(1884-1920)
c.1913
Crayon and pencil
Robert and Lisa Sainsbury Collection
UEA 14
Amedeo Clemente Modigliani(12 July 1884 – 24 January 1920)was an Italian Jewish painter and sculptor who worked mainly in France . He died at age 35 in Paris of tubercular meningiti .
This art work show there is a nude women and I think the artist want to draw the outline by using circle shape . I enjoy looking artist using different material that I’m not used to use. He had use crayon draw the outline and use pencil to draw the inside .I think this works want to tells this is a lonely women without family .I think this is a said work.

Artist ref: Wikipedia introduce
img_3376
Olmec Figure
Mexico
Olmec style
c.1200-900 BC
Terracotta , cream slip , red pigment
Acquired 1978
UEA 697
This article on the Olmec figurine describes a number of archetypical figurines produced by the Formative Period inhabitants of Mesoamerica .These figurines are usually found in household refuse, in ancient construction fill, and (outside the Olmec heartland) in graves, although many Olmec-style figurines, particularly those labelled as Las Bocas- or Xochipola-style, were recovered by looters and are therefore without provenance.
I think this works was so natural .The shape was really real .The colour was very pure and warm .It feel like humorous and I think this work of the theme was telling about helplessness .

Artist ref: Wikipedia introduce
img_3397
Four Figures 1987
Charles Maussion (1923-2010)
Production Place:France
Acrylic on paper
UEA 700
Charles Maussion was born in Nantes in 1923, came in Paris in 1946 and began mathematics and art history studies at the Sorbonne and at the Art Institute of Archaeology. His early work reveals his dedication to the rhythm, the number and the space. In 1956 he exhibits at Iris Clert and in 1958 at the Salon des Réalités Nouvelles in Paris with the Arnaud Gallery.
In his work ,I can just only saw four people in unclear face in black and white colour .I can only see the shape of the peoples .I don’t like this work a lot ,because I can understand what he want to present and I can see any interest point in this work .This work make me feels flustered but I think if this work change to bright colour style . i think the effect can come out more clear and easily .

Artist ref:http://galeriebernardbouche.com/en/artists?type=biography&artist=27

Two Figures (Pick-a-back)1977-1980
John Davies (b.1946)
England
Mixed media
Acquired 1980
UEA 782
John Davies was born in Cheshire in 1946. He studied painting at Hull and Manchester Collage of Art 1963–67, after which he spent two years at the Slade School of Fine Art , London. He was awarded a sculpture fellowship at Gloucester College of Art in 1989 and in the following year he won the Sainsbury award. John Davies currently lives and works in Kent and London.
For this work , my first feeling was very complex . Two men didn’t wear any top and one of the man carry the other man . This scene looks very poor .This work made me feel very impressionistic . I think this two persons look like the refugee during the would wall 2 and they take care each other to save their life . I think this is a sad present work .The color he has use is feel very cold and dark .I like this work ,cause it can make me feel this two statue was real and make me feel what their feelings.

Leave a Reply

